

Appendix I Annex I Rules of Procedure - Meeting of Signatories of the Hamilton Declaration Adopted 21 October 2014

Composition of the Sargasso Sea Commission

The Commission is to be composed of distinguished scientists and other persons of international repute committed to the conservation of high seas ecosystems. Commissioners are to serve in their personal capacity.

Five commissioners are to be selected for the initial launch. With the agreement of the Signatory Governments, additional Commissioners may be added as appropriate to carry out the forthcoming Commission Work Programme.

At the first Commission meeting, the Commissioners are to elect from their number a Chair and a Vice-Chair, each to serve for a two year term.

Selection Criteria

The composition of the Commission should aim to reflect a balance of geographic distribution and diverse expertise and experience. The relevant fields of expertise of the Commissioners are to include the following:

- ecosystem-based fisheries management
- marine spatial planning
- oceanography
- marine ecology
- marine geology
- endangered and threatened marine species (e.g. whales, turtles, eels, seabirds, etc.)
- environmental and human use impact assessments
- economic valuation
- international law and marine policy

Relevant areas of experience are to include the following or similar areas:

- regional fisheries management organizations
- International Maritime Organization and associated maritime shipping issues
- International Seabed Authority and associated seabed mining issues
- land-based sources of marine pollution issues
- United Nations and related processes (e.g. Oceans Resolution, Sustainable Fisheries Resolution, Law of the Sea negotiations, CITES, CMS, FAO, etc.)



At least one Commissioner is to be based in Bermuda. Nominees are expected to have both the time and commitment to attend all the meetings of the Commission and to engage actively in the development and implementation of its Work Programme.

Nomination Process

Each year the agreed focal point of each Signatory government is invited to nominate two or more individuals to serve as Commissioners. Nominees may be of any nationality. Individuals who believe they meet the criteria for nomination may submit a nomination package to direct to the Executive Secretary. Nominations packages are to include a full CV for the individual as well as a statement of interest (not to exceed one page) articulating how the nominee's expertise and experience satisfies the selection criteria. These are to be sent to Executive Secretary, Sargasso Sea Commission. (dfreestone@sargassoseacommission.org).

Agreed Selection Process

The Secretariat is to circulate nomination packages received by the deadline to the focal points of the Signatory governments.

The Secretariat is to inform the focal points of the Signatory governments of the list of nominees, provide their full nominations packages, and request written feedback. Feedback will include priority ranking/scoring for all the nominees.

A list of nominees will be shared with Collaborating Partners.

The Government of Bermuda, following further consultation with the Signatory governments, is to announce the Commissioners.

The Government of Bermuda's selection process is to remain confidential.

Annual Selection Timeframe

Commission vacancy and job description made publically available-	31 March
Nominations due from Signatories-	30 April
Circulation of applications to focal points and Collaborating Partners-	1-15 May
Feedback due to Secretariat-	15 June
Bermuda appoints Commissioner(s)-	1 August



Commissioners Terms of office

Commissioners will serve for a period of up to three years, with the initial term beginning on 1 August 2014. To ensure the continuity of the Commission, the Commissioners are to be appointed so that each year the terms of approximately 1/3 of the members of the Commission expire. Commissioners may apply to renew for a period of up to an three additional years. If a Commissioner is unable to fulfill his or her term, a replacement will be appointed by the Government of Bermuda to fill the vacancy for the balance of the unexpired term.

No commissioner may serve for more than three consecutive terms.

Remuneration

Commissioners serve without remuneration. If available, modest funds to help cover travel expenses may be provided when necessary for Commissioners to attend meetings associated with the Commission Work Programme.